Faculty | Department Name | SIU

Home
Southern Illinois University

CONTACT

SIU.EDU

Molecular Biology, Microbiology and Biochemistry

Faculty

Sukesh R. Bhaumik

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Bhaumik, Sukesh R.
Professor
PhD., Tata Institute of Fundamental Research
(University of Bombay, India), 1997
E-mail:  sbhaumik@siumed.edu
Phone:  618-453-6479

Research Interests:  Regulation of eukaryotic gene expression; transcription-coupled ubiquitination and DNA repair; NMR structural studies on proteins and nucleic acids.

Judith K. Davie

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Davie, Judith K.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1998
E-mail: jdavie@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-5002

Research Interests:  Mechanisms of gene regulation; focusing on myogenin, a transcription factor that controls skeletal muscle development.

Keith Gagnon

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Gagnon, Keith
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 2007
E-mail: kgagnon@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-3895

Research Interests: Biochemistry of nucleic acids, RNA, and RNA-protein interactions in human biology and disease.

Ramesh Gupta

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Gupta, Ramesh
Professor and Chair
Dept. of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology
Ph.D., University of Illinois, 1981
E-mail: rgupta@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-6466

Research Interests:  Molecular Biology: Archaea; transcription and RNA processing in extreme halophilic and hyperthermophilic microorganisms.

Peter M.D. Hardwicke

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Hardwicke, Peter M.D.
Emeritus Professor
Ph.D., University of London, 1969
E-mail: phardwicke@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-6469

Research Interests:  Regulation of calcium transport across membranes by calcium pumps and the sodium-calcium exchanger. Proteolipids, lipids, conjugated trienes and non-myelin sensory nerve antigens.

Piroska Huvos

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Huvos, Piroska
Emeritus
Ph.D., Eotvos Lorand University, Budapest, 1969
E-mail: phuvos@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-6469

Research Interests:  genome rearrangements.

Farid Kadyrov

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Kadyrov, Farid
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Russian Academy of Sciences at Pushchino, 1997
E-mail: fkadyrov@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-6405

Research Interests:  DNA repair in genetic stability & cancer suppression

Eric C. Niederhoffer

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Niederhoffer, Eric. C.
Associate Professor
Ph.D., Texas A&M University, 1983
E-mail: eniederhoffer@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-6467

Research Interests:  Metallobiochemistry; electron transfer; metalloprotein structure-function; microbial stress responses-virulence factors.

Rod Weilbaecher

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Weilbaecher, Rod
Research Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1997
E-mail: rweilbaecher@siumed.edu
Phone : 618-453-5004

Research Interests:  Gene regulation. Post-translational modifications. Telomere biology.

Matthew Young

Biochemistry and Molecular Biology - Carbondale

Young, Matthew
Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Manitoba, 2008
E-mail: matthew.young@siu.edu
Phone : 618-453-6437

Research Interests: Human mitochondrial DNA replication and disease