Faculty | Department Name | SIU

Home
Southern Illinois University

CONTACT

SIU.EDU

Molecular Biology, Microbiology and Biochemistry

Faculty

Kelly Bender

Microbiology - Carbondale

Bender, Kelly
Associate Professor and Director of the MBMB Program
PhD., Southern Illinois University, 2003
E-mail:  bender@micro.siu.edu
Phone:  618-453-2868

Research Interests:  Molecular environmental microbiology.

Derek Fisher

Microbiology - Carbondale

Fisher, Derek
Assistant Professor
PhD., University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, 2006
E-mail:  fisher@micro.siu.edu
Phone:  618-453-5201

Research Interests:  Developmental Regulation in Chlamydia.

Douglas F. Fix

Microbiology - Carbondale

Fix, Douglas F.
Associate Professor and Chair
PhD., Indiana University, 1983
E-mail:  fix@micro.siu.edu
Phone:  618-453-2767

Research Interests:  Molecular mechanisms of mutagenesis in Escherichia coli.

Scott Hamilton-Brehm

Microbiology - Carbondale

Hamilton-Brehm, Scott
Assistant Professor
PhD., University of Georgia, Athens, GA, 2008
E-mail: scott.hamilton-brehm@siu.edu
Phone:  618-453-3818

Research Interests: Anaerobic and aerobic cultivation of microorganisms, environmental sampling.

Vjollca Konjufca

Microbiology - Carbondale

Konjufca, Vjollca
Associate Professor
PhD., University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, 2002
E-mail:  vjollca@micro.siu.edu
Phone:  618-453-8161

Research Interests:  Immunology, Host-Pathogen Interactions.

Bethany Rader

Microbiology - Carbondale

Rader, Bethany
Assistant Professor
PhD., University of Oregon, 2006
E-mail:  bethany.rader@siu.edu
Phone:  618-453-6132

Research Interests:  Beneficial Host-Microbe Interactions, Innate Immunology, Microbial Ecology and Systems Biology.